Leesburg, a community ten miles northeast of Pelahatchie in northeast Rankin County, has a unique claim to fame — the great robbery of the combination store and post office which was never solved. According to postal records the post office at Leesburg opened in 1879 and closed in 1938. Mail was carried from Leesburg to Morton. The community was named for a family of early settlers. The Leesburg Cemetery contains 174 marked graves. Its size indicates the importance of the Leesburg community to this section of Rankin County through the years.